Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

First post - some info on Spy Guard malware

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Lvgonadream

Lvgonadream

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:14 AM

Posted 04 November 2009 - 07:22 AM

Good morning - just an introduction, I've been running computers since about 1975 and use to run about 45 different word processors before the "desk top" became the most popular. So not a stranger to them, I guess you could say I've grown as they've grown.

That being said, Imagine my horror when my windows shield popped up on October 1 saying I was infected and needed to run a scan.

Okay fine. I had just downloaded something new from MS, so that must be it.

A month of a nightmare. I was infected with Spy Guard and could not get it removed. I tried everything suggested at this forum.

Spy Guard stopped everything - including renaming malwarebytes to something else.

So then I tried copying various "rescue" disks. Kasperski being one I remember. It would not let anything run.

Foolishly I had not ever backed up this computer. Something I won't neglect in the future.

I then thought to save my precious info on my computer (I use it for work at home) I would upload to an online storage site.

I started up the computer - and spy guard did appear.