Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Radeon 5870 vs GTX 295

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 aocvirek

aocvirek

• Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:42 AM

Posted 01 November 2009 - 04:06 AM

Ok, so I am planning to buy a new rig for my birthday at the end of November. I have been saving for 8 years since I bought my last one, so price isn't really an issue on this discussion .

I am pretty much set on the rest of the build, but the GPU solution is driving me nuts.

On one hand, I have the DX.11 compliant Radeon 5870, and on the other hand, the non DX.11 GTX 295. (I plan to go dual GPU Xfire/SLI on this either way.)

From most of the reviews and benchmarks I have seen, the R5870 lags behind the GTX295 in raw performance, often significantly, on Direct X 10 and 10.1 based apps. But from all of the non biased (i.e. non nVidida PR department propaganda to avoid market share loss since they blew their Oct Fermi launch.) Direct X 11.0 is a significant advancement over Direct X 10.1 in terms of code optimization, tesselation, multicore and thread use, etc...

So, I keep asking myself. Should I go with the card that has more raw power on current benchmarks, but risk DX.11 catching on rapidly and leaving my GPU setup out in the cold, and possibly with falling benchmarks as DX.11 cards perform better with the optimized code?

Or