Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

computer errors or bad sections

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 berniewoods

berniewoods

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:34 AM

Posted 31 October 2009 - 02:46 AM

i'm new to this trying to fix my computer. i have my defrag to run automaticly on vista premium but i found out it was not doing the scan. i tried to fix the problem with the chkdsk like i was told by the computer. it said i had to run chkdsk in elevated mode to work. i tried to run it in elevated mode but it said chkdsk could not run while volume in use and had me set the scan for start-up. well on start-up, the scan would not run either. i read some forum that told me to put chkdsk /f /r and sfc scannow but that didn't work either. :huh: i'm in iraq trying to fix this on my own so i don't have geek squad to take this to, do you have any suggestions for me. thanks for your time.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 rowal5555

rowal5555

Just enough info to be armed & dangerous...

• Members
  • 2,644 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:34 AM

Posted 31 October 2009 - 04:50 AM

Hi Bernie

Welcome to BC.

I am assuming that you have the Firewall turned on and a good AntiVirus and AntiMalware running. If not, then get these immediately and check that your system is clean.