Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Need help to get rid of nasty malware, please!

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 oranjeboom

oranjeboom

• Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:31 PM

Posted 27 October 2009 - 01:39 PM

Hi, I am a newbie and would like to say hello to everyone and ask for a bit of help please. Through my own stupidity I have infected our windows XP pc with some nasty malware. A couple of years ago I purchased some software, but after having to re-format the hard drive last year, I lost the reg key, so when I downloaded the software again, I couldn't register it. As I had already paid for it once, I stupidly tried to obtain a reg key through another site, which has infected our PC. I cannot run Malwarebytes, Hijack This, Adaware or Spybot. I have tried running these in safe-mode but it says access denied. I have downloaded latest version of Malwarebytes straight ont a usb connected pen drive, and tried to run it off there, which started up and then stopped after starting a scan. The malware is redirecting Google search results onto various shopping sites etc, and slowing start-up.
We use I.E. as our browser, use AVG free, and Zone Alarm firewall. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Budapest

Budapest

Bleepin' Cynic

• 23,579 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:31 PM