Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Multiple HDD issues (long)

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 sickness_smb

sickness_smb

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:30 AM

Posted 26 October 2009 - 10:15 PM

Hi all,

I'm sure as you can tell I am new around here. Currently, I am a full time student pursuing a Bachelor's Degree in Computer Science 2nd year in. Over the last week my laptop has had some issues that seemed like easy fixes, but have quickly compounded. About a week ago I upgraded the RAM in my Toshiba Laptop P25-S520 from 2x256 to 2x1Gb. I did re-swap the RAM just to make sure the new was not faulty. After the swap it booted just fine. I shut the machine down, and rebooted it the following morning. It got hung on the TOSHIBA screen before Windows XP Home Edition loads. I gave it a cntrl+alt+del to reboot, again it got hung on the Toshiba screen and again I cntrl+alt+del to reboot. This time a "Disk read error cntrl+alt+del to reboot" message comes up. Do that four or five times then stick the Windows XP Installation disk in and boot the the disk. My plan was to get the the Recovery Console, then to the command prompt and work from there. When I hit "r" I got "Setup does not detect a HDD" or something similar to that. I reboot and enter BIOS. BIOS confirms that it also does not see a HDD. I saw this thread pinned and I thin