Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

boot menu

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 reece

reece

• Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:28 PM

Posted 25 October 2009 - 01:27 PM

I have been using ubuntu for a few months now and im enjoying it but i more often then not need to use xp.
is there a way to change xp back to the default without removing ubuntu altogether

P.S. i Cant find a way for ubuntu to use 1440 x 900 as its resolution, any Help?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 MadDawg

MadDawg

• Members
  • 453 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:28 PM

Posted 25 October 2009 - 03:31 PM

Is there a way to change xp back to the default without removing ubuntu altogether?

sudo gedit /boot/grub/grub.conf

Then read the two code boxes in post two on this site:
http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/redhat-fe...t-o-s-grub.html

Or, you can post the contents of the grub.conf file and I'll tell you what to change.

I can't find a way for ubuntu to use 1440 x 900 as its resolution, any help?

It's probably a driver issue. Try enabling the restricted driver if possible. To do this, go to System > Administration > Hardware Drivers.
A penguin broke my windows with a half-eaten apple!

#3 BlackSpyder

BlackSpyder

Bleeping Big Rig

• BC Advisor
  • 2,456 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:28 PM

Posted 25 October 2009 - 03:39 PM