Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Wondows XP Firewall

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 buttoni

buttoni

• Members
  • 267 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:06 AM

Posted 01 August 2005 - 08:51 AM

Need some expert opinions please. I am new to the internet (since January) and bought a Dell 4700 (WinXP Home SP2 5.1.2600) ordered with McAfee Firewall, Privacy Service, SpamKiller and VirusScan pre-installed. Of course, I turned off the Windows firewall because I know you can't have two running at the same time. The McAfee log on dial-up used to show anywhere from 50-100 inbound events per day, sometimes more. But ever since we switched to SBC DSL connection, whose external modem has a hardwired firewall, there is little left for McAfee Firewall to deal with at all. Some days 6 events, sometimes 4, 2, and some days none at all!! I was told the hardwired firewalls were good, but I have tangible, viewable evidence of the drop in inbound events. I'm impressed.

My question: When my McAFee subscription runs out, do you guys think the Windows XP firewall is good enough to be my backup firewall protection to the hardwired DSL firewall in my modem? Or do you think that might be risky, because the Windows Firewall isn't sophisticated enough to offer "true" protection for what gets past the hardwire wall?