Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Pretty sure it's virut, but can't really confirm.

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 VirutPwned me

VirutPwned me

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:46 AM

Posted 07 October 2009 - 10:17 PM

Howdy,

First a quick background so you know how much i know and don't. I'm basically a total noob who gets rid of those really easy virus removal for friends and family. Through own work/finding info on forums. It's been a while but there is a computer which is totally owning my small knowledge base.

Ok so the virus I'm pretty sure is Virut. However, I have no idea how to check. I have Hijackthis but i can't get it onto the required PC it's so bonkers.

This is what I have so far he came to me saying man the computer was messed up the internet kept disappearing for no reason and recently I just can't do anything.

So i grabbed it and basics Ctrl+alt+dlt is your friend and found out his quicktime was pumped up to take the whole processor., I tried stopping it by just hitting enter but it didn't work.

Then I came up with the idea of lowering the process priority to low and then trying and i killed it. Right after killing it i could now use the pc.

So i opened up msconfig and made sure that qttask.exe wouldn't be starting again hit restart and let it role.