Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Infected computer, suspect rootkit, am total PC noob.

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 darthjennifer

darthjennifer

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:13 PM

Posted 28 September 2009 - 10:09 PM

I'd like to preface this post with this disclaimer: I am a total noob when it comes to PC maintenance. The closest I've ever come to troubleshooting is when I finally managed to tweak the graphics settings enough to get Age of Conan to work on my computer. If you kindly decide to reply to my post, please feel free to explain things to me the same way you would explain them to a third grader. With head trauma.

I have an Acer Aspire on which I'm running Windows XP. When I first got it, I was running Norton Antivirus and continued to do so for two years. Recently I decided I wanted to switch to Kaspersky and tried to uninstall Norton. I don't know what I did wrong, but it turned into a complete mess. I ended up uninstalling practically everything on it, including all security programs, to try and fix the problem and make sure I had gotten all of Norton out. I had only limited internet access while I did these things.