Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

I have a virus, trojan or rootkit

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
No replies to this topic

#1 Ferg8888

Ferg8888

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:05 AM

Posted 22 September 2009 - 11:03 AM

So, I read a few of the threads here and I think you guys can help. I am not a novice, but made a very bad choice of downloading a file from an unknown website and ran it. Nothing seemed to happen, but afterward AVG Free crashes when I run a scan, so does Avast, Antivir, Spybot and Malware bytes. This happens in Safe mode as well. This is my work computer and I am the most computer literate person here, we have no IT department. I really can't afford to wipe the machine.

I downloaded AVG Rootkit free and ran the scan, it listed Win32k.sys, but warned me before fixing them, so I chose to wait and seek advice from this forum.

I have to continue using this computer for work, but try to limit what I do.

Please advise.

Also, firefox and internet explorer will not start. For Firefox the process starts and then quits and IE starts and just freezes. I am currently using Opera to log on to this forum.

System:

Microsoft Windows XP Professional Version 2002
Service Pack 3

Dell Optiplex GX745
Intel Core2 6400 @2.13GHz
2GB RAM

************************************************************************************