Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Need To Rescue Internal HD Using External Enclosure

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Mitch_H

Mitch_H

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:01 AM

Posted 19 September 2009 - 01:24 PM

I am a developer that made a nasty newbie mistake, I didn't backup all the appropriate folders on my development server. I woke up the other day to a blue screen of death, and have not been able to recover the hard drive. I purchased a new hard drive, and reinstalled most of my programs, but have lost tremendous amounts of work and several MySql databases.

I believe that the hardware is ok, but I lost the boot sector. I believe this because I downloaded several tools (after installing a new hard drive) and was actually able to see a hex dump of the drive with one tool.

I purchased a USB enclosure to help me rescue some of the data on the drive, but the drive under is not recognized by Windows XP as valid, even though it detects it when powered up. In other words, you hear the sound file played indicating a new drive was plugged in, but it does not get listed as a drive under "My Computer".

I cannot afford to send the drive to a data recovery firm. Does anybody know of any website providing instructions or tools to help recover a drive that has lost it's boot sector?

I would really appreciate any advice.