Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

First time BUILD, need suggestions.

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 pleurebleu

pleurebleu

• Members
  • 54 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:32 PM

Posted 17 September 2009 - 04:02 PM

Hello everyone,

This is my first time on the forum but it seems like when properly formulating a demand everyone gets a proper answer which looks promising.

Well here I go:

I have never built a computer of my own, all my desktop/laptops were pre-assembled computer from either Dell or Alienware (I know alienware is owned by Dell).

I have a very comfortable (in my opinion) budget of 5,000$ for the computer itself, I can go over for a few hundreds only if necassary.
This computer will have two main purposes:
1- 3D modelling and animation rendering with blender/3dmax.
2- High-end Gaming.

I had started to look into brand such as alienware (the area51-x58) or falcon northwest (mach V), but I am almost sure I'd save a big amount of money if I was to build it myself.
(and I'm not too fan about alienware's case).

Since I've never done that before, I don't really have a base except for what I could select when "building" from an assembler's website.

If I had purchased from falcon northwest (for example), I'd have configured the following pieces:

Alimentation:
1200 Watt, I have no idea about which brand to pick.