Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

tftp.msc / beforegllav infection

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Zeromus-X

Zeromus-X

• Members
  • 32 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:38 AM

Posted 16 September 2009 - 11:51 AM

I'm a new poster here, but I'm a computer tech of 12 years and specialize in malware/spyware removal, and have made that my focus for about the past four years. I was doing some Google searching for a relatively new problem we're seeing and I wasn't coming up with much, until I saw someone helping a user here on the HijackThis forum. I wanted to mention we've seen this infection on three computers that have come in today alone:

The computers have all been running various versions of Windows Vista (one Basic, two Premium). Neither would boot into normal mode; they continually rebooted. In safe mode, Explorer wouldn't run. No desktop wallpaper. Running Combofix (renamed or not) would give the loading bar and nothing else. HijackThis would get about 80% through a scan and shut down. MBAM won't install, SAS can't install in safe mode. Unsure of what it was, I even ran a scanner for Virut, which rebooted the system.

From the command prompt there were a massive number of hidden .dll and .exe files in the System32 folder that shouldn't have been there, as well as a ton of .exe files in the Users/username/AppData/temp folder.