Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Cannot start computer

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 bluedart

bluedart

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:56 PM

Posted 15 September 2009 - 05:15 AM

Newbie here and I apologise if this has been discussed before - I can't find it if it has been.

I am using my laptop to broadcst this message and my main PC is switched on and sitting beside of me with the following message/s

Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:
System32\drivers\nvatabus.sys

You can attempt to repair this file by starting windows setup using the original Setup CD-ROM
Select 'r' at the first screen to start repair.

I have tried what it has said above with no results

Help!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Romeo29

Romeo29

Learning To Bleep

• Members
  • 3,194 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:56 PM

Posted 15 September 2009 - 05:33 AM

Hi bluedart. Welcome to BleepingComputer :thumbsup:

nvatabus.sys is NVIDIA® nForce™ IDE Performance Driver.

Download this file from nVidia : http://download.nvidia.com/Windows/nForce/...nstructions.zip
Read the Case 3 in the DOC file and follow instructions.
Copy nvatabus.sys from the downloaded Zip file to a USB pendrive (if you dont have floppy drive).

Edited by Romeo29, 15 September 2009 - 05:34 AM.

#3 bluedart

bluedart
  • Topic Starter