Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

ComboFix Problem

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 GeekJD

GeekJD

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:20 PM

Posted 11 September 2009 - 09:40 AM

Thank you in advance with help regarding my question. Let me start by stating I'm NOT a novice with respect to using ComboFix, and love it's effectiveness at removing rootkits and other malware. That said, I incorrectly ran ComboFix on a machine running Windows Vista Home Premium 64-Bit.

Of course, I received an error letting me know that combofix doesn't run in that environment. However, it left behind a new file and two new folders. The typical uninstall command, combofix /u, abends as well. The file/folders left behind are:

Bug.txt
\Combofix
\Qoobox

I'm very familiar with Qoobox being left behind prior to the uninstall process, but the bug.txt and \combofix folders are alien to me. The bug.txt folder contains a lot of information that I don't fully understand. So, my questions are these:

1) What changes did combofix actually make to the system (besides the obvious files/folders)?