Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Question regarding New v Old account?.


  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 bluesjunior

bluesjunior

  • Members
  • 761 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Local time:08:10 AM

Posted 08 September 2009 - 08:01 AM

Hi,
Due to recently having had little problems with my XP Home account I followed the MSN tutorial on opening and transferring all my files etc to a new account. I did this and as my new account had been working well for two days and I saw no problems yesterday I deleted the old account. I followed the instructions to delete and remember one of the last boxes which came up asked me about windows storing the old account in a folder. I am sure I chose not to do this and Windows deleted the account.

As the old account had disappeared from My Computer>Files Stored on this Computer I thought no more about it. This morning I downloaded a film and after downloading I went to the Downloads folder to check it with my AV only to find the folder empty. I checked everywhere to see if it had gone someplace else by mistake but no I could not find it. I went back to the download site and got the file name and did a search and hey presto there it is in Windows\C:\Documents and Settings\ Old Account\Downloads. In this folder named after my old account are 10.6GB of duplicate files which I no longer need as I have them in my new account.

I have deleted everything in this folder except the starred favorites folder which holds all my Firefox Bookmarked Shortcuts. I thought perhaps I could drag and drop it into the same folder in my new account but could not do this. I unticked the two check boxes in order to show hidden files and folders and there is still quite a few folders in there in the old account. A lot of them are empty but some still have files in them. In total there is 346MB not a lot and it is not a problem to leave them but being very houseproud if it was okay to delete these remnants of my old account I would. Is it safe to do so?.

When I first used Firefox in my new account all my bookmarks etc were still there. Is this maybe why I cannot delete the favorites folder from the old account?.

Edited by bluesjunior, 08 September 2009 - 08:49 AM.

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-MA770T-UD3, CPU: AMD Athlon II X3 450 Processor, Memory: OCZ 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1333MHz,Graphics: PowerColor HD 5750 1GB GDDR5,
PSU: Corsair 430W CX PSU 4x SATA 1x PCI-E, Hard Drive:Samsung SpinPoint F3 500GB Hard Drive SATAII 7200rpm 16MB Cache.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users