Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Upgrading to low end gaming computer!?

• Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#1 turbobluemiata

turbobluemiata

• Members
  • 26 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:05 PM

Posted 02 September 2009 - 09:09 PM

Okay, So I'm new to all component side of computers. Not so Much software, But what I have to start with is a

HP Pavilion m7463w (picked up cheap on craigslist so I would just like to stick with this Platform) and stay under $1000 total payed $350 so far and I know Im not gonna be able to play games on the highest settings but would like medium to high Help please, I think whats lacking the most is the processor?? but I could be wrong?

Base processor
PentiumD 930 (P) DC 3.0 GHz
*800 MHz front side bus
*Socket 775

Chipset
Intel 945P

Motherboard
*Manufacturer: Asus
*Motherboard Name: P5LP-LE

Memory Installed- 4GB (4 x 1 GB)
Speed supported- PC2-4200 MB/sec
Type- 240 pin, DDR2 SDRAM
DIMM slots- Four

Hard drive
* 300 GB SATA
*7200 rpm

Video Graphics Card- EVGA E-GEFORCE 8800GS (unclocked so far, has anyone done so with good results?)

Edited by turbobluemiata, 02 September 2009 - 09:11 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 DJBPace07

DJBPace07

• BC Advisor
  • 4,869 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:05 PM

Posted 02 September 2009 - 09:31 PM