Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Ran combofix, serious problems

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Blandcorporatio

Blandcorporatio

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:31 PM

Posted 30 August 2009 - 10:14 AM

Hello all, it's my first time postng here. I have just brought my desktop over to china from the us (yes, that was probably my first problem). Anyway it worked fine after my arrival. A few weeks later I would encounter symptoms such as website redirecton and sometimes I could not browse at all (though my connection as good and receiving data). After applying my usual battery of antivirus software, I tried combofix (probably my second mistake). I disabled my other antivirus software, I followed the prompts and it ran fine. However, after combofix was restarted, my computer started up extremely slow. The startup programs eventually load but everything remains painfully slow. The hard drive light remains continuously on. In task manager, my memory usage remains low though there is much fluctation in CPU usage, even when I am not using the machine. Safe mode runs more or less fine. After backing up my personal files, I have tried to reinstall windows from the boot cd, but I can't even do that because I get a blue screen error message when setup is initializing. I have tried other things, freeing up memory, defragging, unins