Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Infection that prevents running of utils and normal startup

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 mikthefish

mikthefish

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:48 PM

Posted 28 August 2009 - 11:17 PM

Hello all. I'm a newbie here and came across this site after hours of troubleshooting an infection.

Hoping that one of you kind folks can help me clean this off so as to preclude a lengthy rebuild. I have a good amount of computer experience and have all my data backed up on a now-disconnected USB drive.

I have an XP SP3 computer that apparently got infected at 9am this morning. My Symantec AnitVirus Corporate Edition v10 seemed to catch some of it (I can see that the quarantine was updated at that time), but the computer started to misbehave and then BSODed at 9:15am. I booted into safe mode and started poking around and tried to remediatevia a combo of SAV, AdAware and manual effort, as I have done during other virus infections on other PCs.

- searched and found all files created between 9-9:15am
- moved all the obvious files to a separate folder and set with list-only NTFS rights
~.exe
blyuwrjl.exe
fyblb.exe
jukazena.dll
kayujada.dll
melusume.dll
osps.exe
pvewnn.exe
sawopuyu.dll
tepidike.dll
- saw that my previous System Restore point had probably been infected, removed those files as well