Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

damn this windows me

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 bone24

bone24

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:44 PM

Posted 20 July 2005 - 12:23 PM

hello group, i am relatively new to troubleshooting so lets try to keep it in laymens terms. i have a compaq presario 5001sr with win. me I KNOW GET RID OF THE WHOLE SET-UP AND BUY NEW! not an option.. it will not start in any mode. i start in safe with command prompt and freezes in the same spot each time drivers\mup.sys

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 Leurgy

Leurgy

Voted most likely

• Members
  • 3,831 posts
  •  

Posted 20 July 2005 - 12:44 PM

Hello bone24 and welcome to BC.

When you get to the screen where you pick Safe Mode, pick Step by Step Confirmation instead and when you are asked whether you want to load mup.sys say no, but say yes to everything else. This may allow you to boot to Windows. If you can then do a Quick Restore, or go to Start>Run and type in msconfig. From there you can try to Extract mup.sys from your Restore CD.

When the only tool you own is a hammer, every problem begins to resemble a nail. Abraham Maslo

**** We use our powers for good, not evil ****

Trying to remove your data from the web is like trying to remove pee from a swimming pool

#3 bone24

bone24
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •