Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Using Firefox

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 snoopsmom

snoopsmom

• Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:08 AM

Posted 19 July 2005 - 08:13 AM

Hi! I'm relatively new at this, but I have a question. I have a cable connection currently using IE. I am thinking of trying Firefox due to the number of articles saying that it is safer than IE. My question is that if I use Firefox, is IE still "open" to the Internet due to my always on connection? I know that my automatic downloads occur when my PC is on, even if I'm not actively on the Internet due to the cable connection. Do I somehow disable IE? Thanks for your patience with a newbie question!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 tg1911

tg1911

Lord Spam Magnet

• Members
  • 19,274 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:08 AM

Posted 19 July 2005 - 08:41 AM

IE won't be "open", until you open it.
In my opinion, Firefox beats IE hands down.
Be sure to check out this post, on Pipelining Firefox?
You should notice an increase in your browser speed.

Here's a link to a post, about some of the extensions, that our members use:
Favorite Firefox Extensions

Link's to some of the available extensions:
Mozilla Update
Extension Room
Firefox Help: Extensions
Clav's Firefox Extensions

If you have any questions, be sure to ask.