Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Viruses and Malware sneaking through

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Tom Bull

Tom Bull

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:37 PM

Posted 23 August 2009 - 07:49 AM

I am a computer technician and am noticing a return of a variety of malware and viruses sneaking through valid protection; Norton, McAfee, Trend, etc. It doesn't seem to matter. I had a similar flood of trouble about 6 months ago, but it went away...it's back. Usually, a "cocktail" of HJT, Malwarebytes and Ccleaner will do the trick, but sometimes I can't even run ComboFix or HJT. I've had to reload 2 systems in the past 24 hours and have a 3rd one I'm working on now.

I want to try and figure out how to get something to run on it. So far, I've taken the drive out and made it a slave to another system and scanned with NAV; found and removed 17 infections, but still cannot run HJT. I also ran Malwarebytes on it and AVG 8.5 for good measure. I've tried running the system in Safe Mode and renaming Malwarebytes, but still no good.

Is anyone else seeing an increase of infected systems? If so, can you share your solutions?

EDIT: Moved to more appropriate forum

Edited by garmanma, 23 August 2009 - 10:07 AM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 techextreme

techextreme

Bleepin Tech

• BC Advisor
  • 2,125 posts
  •