Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

laptop showing signs of being infected by a lot of different viruses

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 youkojin

youkojin

• Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:37 AM

Posted 17 August 2009 - 03:16 AM

hello! im a newb in this forum and this is my first post. this seems to be a safe place to start asking questions. i'm trying to clean a laptop that the owner suspects is infected, and after exploring and using it, the problem seems to be more complicated than i first thought. hope someone will be able to help me.^_^

anyways, here are the symptoms that i discovered so far:
1. prevents access to some websites including, but not limited to, antivirus websites
2. can't install or update antivirus and malware programs
3. can't run online scans
4. can't run in safe mode
5. can't delete files

as you can see, the first thing i did was try to identify the virus, but it (these?) are preventing me from doing that. some of the symptoms are associated with known viruses (like beagle and virtu) and there are removal tools available already, but these tools were not able to detect anything at all. please advise me on what to do next. thanks!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 quietman7

quietman7

Bleepin' Janitor

• Global Moderator
  • 51,281 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:37 PM