Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

One WinXP rookie's desktop helper.

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Dave Binko

Dave Binko

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:40 PM

Posted 08 August 2009 - 02:16 PM

I'm a rookie so this is technically uninspiring, but it serves me well. For my convenience, I added a desktop shortcut to
System Restore in Win XP. For perspective, I only recently achieved this level of ability. It's trivially easy: use Search Companion to find a file path, and trace it to the appropriate file. I found three paths in my computer and used the least exotic looking one. I may be the exception, but a one-click access to System Restore is a real convenience for me.

Dave Binko

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Andrew

Andrew

Bleepin' Night Watchman

• 8,250 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:40 PM

Posted 09 August 2009 - 08:37 PM

That could be rather handy!

Just make sure that the shortcut points to: C:\WINDOWS\system32\restore\rstrui.exe :thumbsup:

#3 BAKERSFIELDBOY211

BAKERSFIELDBOY211

• Members
  • 21 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:40 AM

Posted 16 October 2012 - 01:41 PM

I use restore 2-5 a year, If that, I cant belive someone usese it so much thay need a shortcut. Wow !

#4 Plumber

Plumber

• Members
  • 409 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:40 AM

Posted 17 October 2012 - 07:19 AM