Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Advice for building a computer

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 CHansohn

CHansohn

• Members
  • 188 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:06 AM

Posted 29 July 2009 - 11:52 AM

I have never built a computer before in my life. I have upgraded and taken apart systems before. I am interested in building a gaming computer and was told that if I'm on a tight budget to custom build one. I currently have a Sony Vaio VGC-RA820G system and was thinking about building a new system taking a few parts from the old one to save money. the Sony has:

Processor
Type
Intel Pentium 4 560 3.6 GHz
Data Bus Speed
800 MHz
Cache Memory
Type
L2 cache
Installed Size
1 MB
Cache Per Processor
1 MB
RAM
Installed Size
1GB / 2 GB (max)
Technology
DDR SDRAM PC3200
Memory Speed
400 MHz
Form Factor
DIMM 184-pin
Card Reader CompactFlash Card type I, CompactFlash Card type II, Memory Stick, Microdrive, MultiMediaCard, SD Memory Card, xD-Picture Card
Storage
Hard Drive
200 GB - standard - ATA-150- 7200 rpm
Storage Controller
Type
1 x IDE
Controller Interface Type
1 x Serial ATA-150
Optical Storage
Type
DVD+RW (Dual layer)
Read Speed
42x (CD) / 16x (DVD)
Write Speed
40x (CD) / 8x (DVD-R) / 16x (DVD+R) / 2.4x (DVD+R DL))
Rewrite Speed
24x (CD) / 4x (DVD-R) / 4x (DVD+R)
2nd Optical Drive
DVD-ROM
Read Speed

40x CD/ 16x DVD
Graphics Controller