Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Reformat Old HP Pavillion

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Kat91119

Kat91119

• Members
  • 128 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:45 AM

Posted 22 July 2009 - 02:03 PM

I've never done this before, and I'm a little scared I'm going to screw something up...

I need to completely reformat my old computer. Its an HP Pavilion that's about 7yrs old. It was given to me by a family member, who has had 3 different computers since she got this one, and has mixed all the CDs together, so doesn't know what is what. So I do not have original CDs (I don't think back then they gave you CDs for XP anyhow)

It has an extra hard drive a friend put in - that apparently was never installed correctly, as when you turn it on you get a message about it not being installed properly. But it works.

From reading stuff online, it seems to do a real reformat, you must boot from the CD that came with the computer (Windows XP). Now, as I said above, I don't have this. But what I do have is a Dell *Operating System* CD that came with my new Dell, which also runs Windows XP.

Will I be able to reformat using only this CD? Will everything be okay with it? I'm think I read that you may need a CD with drivers on it...again, don't have it. Is that going to be a major issue? Will the hard drive that my friend installed be okay?