Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

My computer wont recognize SD cards anymore when I go to copy pictures & video.

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Lee42

Lee42

• Members
  • 104 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:25 PM

Posted 19 July 2009 - 11:29 PM

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time ever posting for help on this website..or any site for that matter..:thumbsup:
I can usually figure things out for myself but this problem has me stumped!

I have a Gateway eMachine with Windows XP Media center edition. It has a 3.06Ghz processor & 1-1/2 Gb Ram.

And I have a Canon digital camera which uses SD memory cards.

The problem is that whenever I insert an SD card into the slot (on the front of the computer) to transfer pictures and videos that I've taken with my camera, that small window that always pops up asking me "what I want to do" (like copy pictures to my computer using certain programs in the list) stopped popping up.

This has been going on for more than two months now. I have an idea as to why it stopped recognizing the SD cards and I'll try my best to explain why I think that way.