Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Infected with backdoor trojan Win32.Trojan.TDSS

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
21 replies to this topic

#1 Buterf1y78

Buterf1y78

• Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:59 PM

Posted 15 July 2009 - 08:04 AM

I have never tried this before and any help would be much appreciated. Last Friday (7/10/09) my computer was infected with the System Security Virus after my husband clicked on a picture in craigslist. Desktop went to blue screen with "warning you computer is infected..." after a few minutes the computer was useless. My brother who has some computer knowledge did his best and cleared out most of the infection. Now although and I am able to use the computer the backdoor trojan Win32.Trojan.TDSS is definitely still there. On occasion I get a warning from ad-aware that says malware is found. I have run both ad-aware and malwarebytes repeatedly and it just cannot clear out this virus. We have located the *.bmp files that were the warning screens and deleted those also. Both ad-aware and malwarebytes can locate the files but cannot remove them even after a reboot. Monday (7/13) after a long day of working on it we thought the system was clean but at approximately 1 am my computer speakers started playing Michael Jackson songs. Couldn't find on the computer where it was coming from and a after two so