Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Who I Am and What I Do

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 billyplatt

billyplatt

• Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:05 PM

Posted 10 July 2009 - 08:18 AM

by day, I am a netadmin for a medium sized organization of 500 computers.

by night, I am a computer cleanup expert, er, used to be an expert, er, now kinda floundering over the latest attacks that are happening around me.

Armed with my mighty SUB stick and tons and tons of experience, my motto was that I could clean almost ANY infections and get your computer back to running normally.

As a service to my fellow employees, if their home computers got pooched up, I let them bring them to me for disinfection. It served us well as I got to see the latest threats, and got better and better at cleaning them. Along the way, I have collected a wide variety of tools, techniques, and strategies for disinfecting PCs. At one point, my method had not changed in about 9 months, and I was preparred to write the difinitive approach for cleaning malware, and was offering it to such places as Windows Secrets, who responded that methodologies changed to rapidly to make a claim like that, and that publishing fix it techniques only fueled the bad guys to invent ways to break our tools.

Boy, were they right.