Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Downloading torrents

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 andybhoy

andybhoy

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:57 AM

Posted 28 June 2009 - 04:33 AM

Hi

I have been downloading torrent files (predominantly music) for a few years now and have never had any problems with infections. Whenever I download a torrent file I scan that file with anti-virus and anti-malware. These scans always come back OK.

I read in various forums that torrent files are risky and open up your computer to attack. My PC knowledge is fairly elementary so I am unable to confirm if that is the case. Generally, before I download torrents I check the comment box to say what other users have say about the file as their comments are a good indicator of the quality of the torrent.

Based on my own experience, I would say that downloading torrents is safe provided a cautious approach is adopted as described above.

What do others think? Any notable experiences would be useful.

Cheers

andybhoy

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 Smitty09

Smitty09

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:57 AM

Posted 28 June 2009 - 02:05 PM

yeah i agree with you i also heard that its unsafe but i havent had a problem (that i know of) yet with downloading torrents...which downloader do you use? utorrent?
Posted Image

#3 syler

syler