Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

installation XP, Vista,Linux in a same H.D.D

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 adhya

adhya

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:26 PM

Posted 24 June 2009 - 01:40 AM

Hi,

I want to install Xp,Vista,Linux in a same hard disk. How can I do this? Please tell me step by step because I am new with computer.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 MadDawg

MadDawg

• Members
  • 453 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:56 AM

Posted 24 June 2009 - 03:41 PM

Note: I have no experience with Vista, so I may miss some things.

Windows XP

1. Back up your data. If you haven't done this yet, do it as soon as you can, otherwise you will lose your data.

2. Get a Linux Distro (such as Ubuntu or openSUSE) and burn it to a CD.

3. Get your Windows XP CD and boot from it. After setup loads the necessary files, hit Enter, then hit F8 to accept the EULA.

4. At this point, you should see something like this. If there are any partitions, delete them, so you get this screen.

5. After that, you create three partitions. You should then get this screen. Make sure you leave some space over. Linux needs an extra partition for its swap file. The amount you leave should be equal to the amount of RAM you have installed (I wouldn't go over 2GB, though)