Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Help removing rootkit

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
5 replies to this topic

#1 zamolx3

zamolx3

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:32 AM

Posted 22 June 2009 - 05:41 AM

Hi guys,

It's my first time on this forum so I'm sorry if I'm posting on the wrong forum.
I'm a programmer so I know a few things about computers but recently I've encountered a problem that I've never seen before (and don't know how to solve).

My friend's laptop has been infected with a rootkit that is pretty hard to remove.
First, the symptoms:
- registry editing, task manager are disabled (if I re-enable these functions with a .reg file they are overwritten automatically in seconds).
- usb drives are automatically infected with autorun.inf files (that will run a .pif file)
- I cannot boot into safe mode (the computer restarts automatically during boot)
- unhackme (http://greatis.com/unhackme/) finds a rootkit (a random name sys file). I cannot remove it with unhackme (it keeps coming back after reboot).
- gmer (http://www.gmer.net/) will BSOD during scan (so I cannot use it).

I didn't wanted to waste time on this and I formatted (NTFS quick) the C: drive. The laptop has two partitions (D: is used only for data).
So, I've formatted the C: drive and cleaned all the USB sticks (removed autorun.inf) on a Mac computer.