Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Bleeping Computer problems

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 wj32

wj32

• Members
  • 56 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:26 PM

Posted 22 June 2009 - 03:05 AM

Hi everyone,

Just before I begin, I want to establish some credibility for myself (which unfortunately is necessary in this bureaucracy). I am a programmer and I am experienced in C, C# and Windows internals. Although I do lack knowledge about browser hijackers, etc. I do know quite a bit about rootkits and other malware.

I would like to help out here, but one problem I'm seeing is the use of automated malware removal tools (or detection) in situations which do not require their use. One example: a person is having BSODs and says that they have tried to use several virus/malware scanners to no avail. A staff member comes along and posts instructions (I'm guessing a copy+paste) on how to use DDS, which the OP has already said did not run. Now, the logical solution for diagnosing BSODs is to post a crash dump and analyze the BSOD using WinDbg. I don't know how using more automated scanners would help.