Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

How safe is safe mode?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 chirpy

chirpy

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:45 PM

Posted 03 July 2005 - 08:34 PM

I am new to Windows Operating Systems, but just purchased Windows 2003. I have a password lock on my machine, but understand I can override it by going into safe mode. Can my teenagers (who are not allowed onto my computer) go into safe mode, override my password, and thus access files and drives on my system? Can they then just reset my password so I'll never know? What exactly can they get to in safe mode without my knowledge?
Thanks!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 Enthusiast

Enthusiast

• Members
  • 5,898 posts
  •  

Posted 03 July 2005 - 08:48 PM

Depends on how skilled in hacking they are.

#3 TEB

TEB

• Banned
  • 449 posts
  •  

Posted 03 July 2005 - 08:52 PM

It has nothing to do with hacking, merely theyre knowledge of internal windows commands.