Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

VB .Net, Embedded text files, and assemblies

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 aommaster

aommaster

I !<3 malware

• Malware Response Team
  • 5,294 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:45 PM

Posted 18 June 2009 - 10:33 AM

Hi guys!

I'm new to VB .Net (I can do the basic things like writing up functions, and simple events) and I decided to add a function to a piece of already-written code.

I have a text file in the root of the project which I have set as "embedded resource", which I believe is a step in the right direction :thumbsup:.

I'd like to input the whole text file's contents into a string.

My code is as follows:
Dim startfileName As String = "Startofhtml.txt"
		Dim Asm As System.Reflection.[Assembly] = System.Reflection.[Assembly].GetExecutingAssembly()
		Dim strm As Stream = Asm.GetManifestResourceStream(Asm.GetName().Name.ToString() + "." + startfileName)
		Dim reader As StreamReader = New StreamReader(strm)
		Dim preview As String = reader.ReadToEnd()

My problem is with line 4 of the above code when it says that StreamReader is trying to read a null value. Now, I'm guessing that it's hit a problem with trying to use the resource, so I'm guessing I haven't done something right with respect to finding the namespace. However, I'm not sure.