Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Explorer.exe error 0xc0000022 on login

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Syzion

Syzion

• Members
  • 29 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:46 AM

Posted 13 June 2009 - 09:09 PM

Hi, this is my first time here, but i have a BIG problem.

As the topic states, i have the error about explorer.exe failing to initialize, but this error doesnt occur on my user, only my parents. i DO recall attempting to replace uxtheme.dll to disable the patch but that failed, and i did change indexing locations for the windows search add-in, but i found the error occuring after accidentally closing explorer.exe and then re-executing it. The taskbar was in classic form for some reason and then i tried loging into my parents user, that was when the error occured. i tried booting in safe mode, admin user had the error too. i tried sfc /scannow and that didnt work. i tried system restore but it failed AND just now, for some reason, my parent's user is HIDDEN, not deleted because when i try to make a new one for them with same username, it says the account already exists though it is hidden.

Any help with the explorer.exe initialization problem?

P.S. sorry if this is a bit confusing, i want to fix the explorer.exe problem first, before fixing the user accounts problem.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis

hamluis