Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Fedora 10 install

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Veridis Quo

Veridis Quo

• Members
  • 33 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:45 PM

Posted 07 June 2009 - 11:51 PM

I apologize in advance for this being long but here goes. I've just built a new system and I'm completely new to Linux. I installed Debian but didn't really like it, plus the screen resolution was off. I formatted the HDD and installed Fedora 10 my first choice. Now the problems arise, when I was installing the OS I couldn't get the graphical installer Anaconda to work just the text based one. This wasn't a big problem but it was the foreshadow of problems in the future. After I boot the Pc up for the first time I come to a command prompt looking page which asks me to login, I login but can't get pass the page. After reading on this forum and others I realize the display needs to be reconfigured but with my video card in I can't get pass the command prompt. I removed the video card and the same thing happens but this time I can login and get to the desktop as root, I have since created another user for the pc. Other problems include Movie player won't play movies. Error message "Totem cannot play this type of media (DVD) because it does not have the appropriate plugins to be able to read from the disc." I've updated the OS and been in the re