Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

2 ISP's on 1 network?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 gen244

gen244

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:45 PM

Posted 07 June 2009 - 11:32 AM

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to BC, thanks for reading my post.

I want to run have 2 internet connections working over 1 network so that I can have my own internet connection while the other people have theirs while still being able to access everyone's PC's over the network. I can think of 2 scenarios...

1) Cable modem plugs into belkin router's WAN port and this router dishes out DHCP to most of the PC's on the network, while keeping several spare for static IPs. Any PC set to use DHCP will see this router as the gateway. The belkin router has a static IP. Into the belkin, I plug a Billion ADSL modem-router. The Billion has DHCP disabled and also has a static IP on the same network as the belkin. I set my PC with a static IP with its gateway set to the IP of the Billion.