Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Difference between php and html?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Delta16

Delta16

• Members
  • 417 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:34 PM

Posted 17 May 2009 - 01:58 AM

first of all, I'm new to web development. I'm building a site from scratch with dream weaver and a friend told me, that html can be stolen and php not.

What is the difference between them?

AND

Does php needs something to be protected?

Thanks in advanced
Delta

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 groovicus

groovicus

• Security Colleague
  • 9,963 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:34 AM

Posted 17 May 2009 - 08:04 AM

HTML is a language used to describe to a browser how to display text and other objects in a browser window. It is not a programming language. HTML works on a client computer (the system on which the page is being viewed).

PHP is a scripting language, and can be used to create web pages written in HTML. PHP runs on the server (the system from which the page comes), and is a full-fledged programming language.

Does php needs something to be protected?

That question doesn't exactly make sense. Langauges do not need 'protection.' The manner in which they are used can sometimes cause problems for the system on which they run, but that will in no way hurt the language itself.