Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Power supply purchase help

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 spyrious

spyrious

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:54 PM

Posted 25 June 2005 - 02:50 PM

Hey there everybody, this is my first time posting on these forums. I use these forums regularly though, at my job on a college campus. I work for an IT help desk and the solutions provided here help me to answer questions better than I ever could myself, so I figured this would be my first stop with the problem I'm having.

I'm trying to figure out what kind of power supply to buy for my system. I upgraded my machine last year with some parts that my current power supply isn't really supposed to be running. Most of the parts in my comp. are salvaged from my old HP (a 5500, I think it was. One of the all in one bundles), but I bought a new mb, video card, and more RAM to start a gaming rig. Here are the stats that I think are important. Tell me if I've left anything out that would help.

Windows XP Pro.
Intel Pentium 4 2.0GHz
Mach Speed X-Caliber P4X400DBP VIA Socket 478 ATX Motherboard
1.25GB PC2100 DDR 266MHz
GeForce FX 5200 / 256MB DDR / AGP
3 case fans
(all of the below were salvaged, so I don't know the exact specs)
30GB HD
16x DVD/CD-ROM drive
3.5 Floppy drive