Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Homenetworking help

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 KISNA

KISNA

• Members
  • 120 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:49 PM

Posted 23 June 2005 - 08:54 PM

Hi guys,

Newbie here. I have an old dell Dimension XPS T700r (I think that's what it's called) I got it few years back. Now I wanna order SBC yahoo DSL which is very cheap with a year contract. I have no knowledge of networking. (I also have a lpatop that has XP and would like to be able to use laptop wirelessly anywhere in the house.

1) Does my desktop have to have a ethernet to be able to do that ?

2) How do I know if my desktop has an ethernet ? I don't remember if I ordered that back then when I configured my system.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 Snapper

Snapper

• Members
  • 550 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:49 PM

Posted 23 June 2005 - 09:29 PM