When you delete a user account, there are 2 options to choose from:
1) Keep files. Your account name will be deleted, it won't show up on the welcome screen, but all the files (My Music, My Pictures, etc) will still be on the computer.
2) Delete files, which obviously gets rid of all the files associated with the user name.
If you chose Delete files, they are gone and you are out of luck.
If you chose Keep files, you can find them by doing a search for the user name OR
right click on Start menu. Choose Explore All Users. You should see the old account name, if it's there
click on the name and you'll be taken to your files and folders. You can then move or copy them to the new account.
Instead of deleting the account you could have simply CHANGED your account and chosen the Remove your password option.
Edited by Queen-Evie, 03 May 2009 - 12:53 PM.