Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Linux Software

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 tb75252

tb75252

• Members
  • 72 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:50 AM

Posted 29 April 2009 - 01:24 PM

I am completely new to Linux and am just trying to get a clearer picture of what it is all about before taking the plunge.

Questions:

1) If I go to a repository such as Softpedia.com and download Linux software (say, for instance, Mozilla Thunderbird for Linux), will I be able to install such software with any of the numerous Linux distributions available? Any caveats?

2) I am still on dial-up and my WinModem is not recognized by any of the Linux major distributions I have tested so far. So, I am thinking about purchasing a U.S. Robotics USR5610C (PCI, internal, controller-based). U.S. Robotics states that this modem only works if Linux's kernel is 2.3 or higher. How would I check whether the kernel of a Linux distribution is 2.3 or higher?

3) Which Linux distributions offer some sort of setup wizard for dial-up modems? (So far, I have only found Fedora 10. Is the whole Linux community on broadband only?? I can't be the only one still on dial-up, and yet the latest distributions of Ubuntu, openSUSE, Mandriva, Linux Mint don't seem to offer a setup wizard for dial-up connections. I am new to Linux, so maybe I am not looking in the right spot!)