Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Clean Install

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 traildad

traildad

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:26 PM

Posted 28 April 2009 - 11:09 AM

I have some experience maintaining my own computers for several years. I am not an expert or a noob. Sometimes it seems that the best and maybe easiest thing to do is a clean install. I wonder how best to back up my computer so I can get everything reinstalled, except of course the problems. I have Acronis True Image on my computer to back up my data. My question is how do I go about preparing for a clean install. Do I just back up everything to True Image and then reload it after the windows install? Do I have to make a list of all my programs and manually reinstall all of them? Also what is the right way to maintain my system and backups so I can more easily fix problems?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Andrew

Andrew

Bleepin' Night Watchman

• 8,259 posts
  •  

Posted 28 April 2009 - 11:52 AM

I don't personally use images to back up my data, so I'm not 100% clear on what gets backed up. Here's what I do when I do a clean install (about once every six months for Windows):

1. Make a list of all programs installed.
2. Back up copies of all drivers and downloaded installers