Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Internet Connection Sharing suddenly not playing well with others.

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 All Meshed Up

All Meshed Up

• Members
  • 46 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:35 AM

Posted 06 April 2009 - 10:30 PM

I'm not very good with networking (it pisses me off too much for me to care enough about it), but I did set up a gateway for my Xbox 360 in order to get it to connect to Xbox LIVE through a my PC's dial-up connection for marketplace data and updates; although I have played a few custom games of Halo 3 on it.
It's a direct wired connection with no router. Just a network connection and a shared dial up connection.

Anyway, I had a sudden power outage the other day in the middle of a system update. Fortunately my Xbox was fine but now I can't access my Windows firewall on my PC because the "Internet Connection Sharing" service is disabled. I went to the services editor where I see the ICS set to Automatic but not currently running. I try to start it and I'm told that it can't start because it's either disabled (no) or there are no devices associated with it.