Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Unexpected sluggishness...Odd

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 sprocket10

sprocket10

• Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:49 PM

Posted 02 April 2009 - 11:13 PM

Hi all,

I'm an XP Pro user. I can usually work my way out of computer problems, but i'm really stuck this time. I'm here for help because my usual fixes aren't helping. I have read through some threads here, but I can't find anything that resembles my problem.

My Dell E1505 laptop has unexpectedly (few weeks ago) started to load my most common program (such as firefox and microsoft office programs) significantly slower (5+ mins before loading). I've been using Spybot, Spywareblaster and CCleaner for years as my main defense against PC problems. I cannot find anything w/ those programs (+ defrag and erasing files off my hard drive) that helps w/ speed.

Dell E1505
Dual Core T2300 1.66Ghz
2 GB 800 MHz RAM

The only program I've installed since then is the new University antivirus: Trend Micro.