Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Vista eating over 50% of my ram

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 spazik

spazik

• Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:51 PM

Posted 01 April 2009 - 09:45 PM

Hello all I just have a quick problem,

I bought a new laptop for work (I'm a photographer) and it came with vista, I have 4 gigs of ddr3 ram and i have uninstalled all the extra programs that came with it but to my surprise vista is running at 51% of my ram just sitting there. I originally had thought that i had a trojan or some such thing as i had uploaded some things from my old hard drive, i ran avast superantispyware and hijackthis all that was found was a few tracking cookies and once those were gone im still running at 51%. my question is this is there anything i can do do make vista run with less ram? im more of an xp geek so vista is new waters for me...also when i looked at my processes i have around 6 or 7 instances of svchost running at any one time, that seems aweful strange to me... and my hijackthis log shows that i have a bunch of missing files from my system32 folder, im not an expert in this so it could mean nothing but i just thought id mention it. Thanks for your help!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Smithsam

Smithsam

• Banned
  • 96 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:51 PM

Posted 02 April 2009 - 05:21 AM