Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Virus is extremely well-hidden. Please Help!

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 superhighgain

superhighgain

• Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:09 AM

Posted 26 March 2009 - 06:01 PM

I am an IT professional and usually can clean these up pretty well, but I am having loads of problems with this one and have work piling up that needs to be done on the infected PC. (Windows XP Pro, SP 3)

Symptoms:
  • Random shut-downs and redirects in IE. Automatic shutdown if I try to go to nearly any anti-virus site (including bleepingcomputer.com). Sometimes redirects to strange sites such as womansway.com, onlinebankingmyway.com, freestuff.com, etc. This is the one symptom that confirms to me that it is a virus of some sort and not another type of issue.
  • Impossible to update AVG. Won't let me run DDS.scr, even if I change the name.
  • Trying to run cmd.exe results in a restart of explorer.exe (at least that's what it looks like).
  • Latest version of Spybot S&D, MalwareBytes, and the quick scan of drweb-cureit detect NOTHING.
  • HJT shows nothing unusual - I would notice something different because I run a very streamlined system. If someone wants me to post a list of all the loaded .dll's, I'd be more than willing - as I would not notice if strange .dll's were loaded.