Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

PXE-E61: Media test failure

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Andy H

Andy H

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:14 PM

Posted 25 March 2009 - 09:01 AM

Hey all,

This is my first time posting, so please let me know if I have posted in the wrong section of the forum. I am having a problem when I boot my PC. After the BIOS screen I receive this error:

For Realtek RTL8111B/8111C Gigabit Ethernet Controller v2.08
PXE-E61: Media test failure, check cable
PXE-M0F: Exiting PXE ROM.

Boot failure
Press any key to continue.

When I go into the BIOS, I can see that my hard-drive is recognized. I disabled the "boot to network" option and the Realtek error went away, but the boot failure error remained. I opened up the PC and checked all of the cables to make sure that they were firmly connected. Right now I am running a Windows Repair; but I was hoping for some ideas/insight/input as to what the issue is.

Thanks,

AB

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis

hamluis

• 55,541 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:14 PM

Posted 25 March 2009 - 10:08 AM

That message comes up when network boot is defined as the first boot option.

I've had it happen to me a couple of times and I was pretty angry/mystified, since I never set the NIC as the first boot device (or any other).