Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

is it safe to uninstall the "windows old" file after re-installing vista?


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 shepster

shepster

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:09:19 PM

Posted 22 March 2009 - 06:30 AM

I had to re-install windows vista after various malware/trojans/worms got the better of laptop.

I have managed to install anti-virus, firewall and spyware programs that would not install previously but vista created a "Windows old" file when it re-installed and my firewall keeps telling me i have risks within this file, these are;

unclassified malware (ID = 0x7e8f30) C:\Windows.old\users\..........keygen.exe
unclassified malware (ID = 0x7e92e8) C:\Windows.old\Windows\downloaded Program Files\ f3 initialsetup1.0.1.1inf
Trojware.Win32.Trojan.TDSS.~K(ID = 0xae5ee6) C:\Windows.old\Windows\System32\gaopdxvidfxtuvigyuydirvemkpmxcjj

Basicaly the question I'm asking, is it ok to delete this file (Windows.old) from my system or will vista still depend on this file for some of the OS files?

All seems to be ok since I re-instaled vista so I would rely like to delete the old rubbish that was left over

Thanks

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 SLIX

SLIX

  • Members
  • 380 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall UK.
  • Local time:09:19 PM

Posted 22 March 2009 - 08:28 AM

Hi

The C:\Windows.old folder holds, amoungst other things, your old documents and settings. If you had already backed them up then you can delete the folder. To see how to do this, follow this link. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/933212

If, however, there are still some old files you want to retrieve from the previous installation then follow this link first. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/933209
Steve

#3 shepster

shepster
  • Topic Starter

  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:09:19 PM

Posted 29 March 2009 - 12:51 PM

Thanks Steve

Very helpfull and all sorted.

Excellent




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users